The Society of American Law Teachers (SALT) is committed to advancing teaching excellence, social justice and diversity. SALT is a community of progressive law teachers, law school administrators, librarians, academic support experts, students and affiliates. SALT has been working for more than 40 years to improve the legal profession, the law academy and expand the power of law to under-served communities.  SALT engages in work within and beyond the law school to advance social justice.

SALT also organizes several BA to JD Pipeline programs throughout the country, hosts Breaking In programs for legal educators, coordinates a mentor program for faculty, co-sponsors a diversity in law school leadership conference and hosts its biennial Teaching Conference. Further, SALT actively promotes human rights through position statements and amicus briefs.

2018 Board of Governors

Claudia Angelos NYU Law School
Caitlin Barry Villanova (Secretary and CLEA liason)
Kristin Barnes University of Akron
Emily Benfer Columbia Law School
Kim Chanbonpin LWI Liason (John Marshall - Chicago)
Matthew Charity, Co-President Western New England Law School
Doug Colbert Univ. of Maryland Law School
Christine Zuni Cruz Univ. of New Mexico
Olympia Duhart Nova Southeastern Univ. Law Center
Davida Finger, Co-President Loyola Univ. New Orleans College of Law
Anthony Farley Albany Law School
Alexi Freeman Univ. of Denver Sturm College of Law
Steve Friedland Elon Law
Allyson Gold Univ. of Alabama Law School
Catherine Grosso, Treasurer Michigan State University College of Law
Vinay Harpalani University of New Mexico
Brooks Holland Gonzaga Univ. Law School
Joan Howarth Michigan State University College of Law
Raleigh Levine, Editor, The Equalizer Mitchell Hamline Law School
Donna Lee CUNY Law School
Margo Lindauer Northeastern Law School
Hugh Mundy The John Marshall Law School
Zinelle October American Constitution Society
Hari Osofsky Penn State Law & the School of Int'l Affairs
Steve Ramirez Loyola Chicago
Sara Rankin, Immediate Past President Seattle Univ. Law School
Denise Roy, Immediate Past President Mitchell Hamline Law School
Sean Scott, Secretary Loyola Law School, Los Angeles


SALT’s Core Committees examine critical issues facing the legal academy and profession:

Access to Justice

Human Rights & Equality

Legal Education (who is admitted to law school, what is taught, and who is teaching)

SALT’s Operational Committees do critical work to support SALT’s mission:

Annual Celebration




Teaching Conference

Please send an email to if you are interested in joining any of these committees or would like more information.

Contact Us

The SALT Mailing Address is c/o Professor Davida Finger Loyola University New Orleans College of Law, 7214 St. Charles Ave, Box 902, New Orleans, La. 70118. Call 702-983-9847 or email