2014 SALT Junior Faculty Award Announced

Share SALT News


SALT is proud to announce Professor Margaret Kwoka (University of Denver) as the winner of the 2014 Junior Faculty Teaching Award.  Among the twelve nominees, Professor Kwoka demonstrated an ongoing commitment to involving social justice themes in her teaching.  She has consistently embodied the mission of SALT through her teaching and scholarship, including teaching social justice concepts in courses like Civil Procedure and organizing the Rocky Mountain retreat for students interested in public interest work.  Please join us in congratulating Professor Kwoka for setting such a high standard for this inaugural award.

SALT would like to thank the Committee members for their service.  The committee considered several strong candidates, and volunteered their time to screen and review applications.  The selection committee included a variety of professors from various disciplines, teaching experience levels and home institutions. We thank Professors SpearIt (Thurgood Marshall), Steve Friedland (Elon),  Ernesto Hernandez (Chapman), Camille Lamar (Nova Southeastern), and Nareissa Smith (North Carolina Central University). We are especially grateful to Professor SpearIt in his role as Chair.  Professor Kwoka will be honored at the SALT Teaching Conference in October.