Announcing the Inaugural Junior Faculty Teaching Award

Share SALT News


SALT is proud to announce the inaugural year of the Junior Faculty Teaching Award. The award recognizes an outstanding recent entrant into legal education who demonstrates a commitment to justice, equality and academic excellence through teaching. Designed to honor an emerging teacher and support an outstanding individual new to the legal academy, the award will be presented annually at the SALT Teaching Conference or SALT-LatCrit Junior Faculty Development Workshop.


Please submit nominations for the 2014 Junior Faculty Teaching Award. Nominees may include all faculty, including clinical, legal research and writing, librarian and doctrinal teachers.


To be considered for the Junior Faculty Teaching Award, a candidate must be:

• A current SALT member.

• A full-time faculty member with no more than seven years of law school teaching at the time of nomination.

• Involved in teaching and advising students at the time of the nomination.

The Junior Faculty Teaching Award is designed to honor a teacher who demonstrates excellence in teaching through some or all of the following:

• Commitment to the mission of SALT.

• Incorporation of social justice themes in the classroom and/or scholarship.

• Innovative curricular design to teach about diversity and access to justice.

• Service to underserved and marginalized populations.

• Mentorship to others in social justice pedagogy.


Only members of SALT may nominate individuals for the Award. Self-nominations are

permitted. Nomination materials must include:

• Nominee’s curriculum vitae.

• Letter of Nomination or Self-nomination.

• In the event of self-nomination, two additional letters of support.

Applications may also include a maximum of five pages of supporting documentation including additional letters of support. All materials must be submitted to Professor SpearIt at in doc or pdf files. The deadline for submitting nominations is June 1, 2014. The winner will be notified by June 15, 2014.


The recipient of the 2014 SALT Junior Faculty Teaching Award will be honored at the upcoming SALT/LatCrit Junior Faculty Development Workshop, to be held Oct. 9, 2014 at UNLV in Las Vegas, Nevada. The recipient will also be recognized in the SALT Teaching Conference Program. The Award also covers the conference registration fee.


The SALT Junior Faculty Teaching Award Selection Committee consists of a variety of professors from different disciplines and experience levels. The 2014 Committee includes: Professors SpearIt, Thurgood Marshall School of Law; Steve Friedland, Elon University; Ernesto Hernandez, Chapman; Camille Lamar, Nova Southeastern University; Nariessa Smith, North Carolina Central University.

For more information about the SALT Junior Faculty Teaching Award, please contact the Chair of the SALT Junior Faculty Teaching Award Selection Committee, Professor SpearIt at