SALT 2020 COVER Workshop

Share SALT News

SALT Cover Workshop in Washington D.C. during the AALS meeting!

What’s at Stake in This Year’s Elections?

Saturday, January 4th, 11am-12:30pm

Omni Shoreham Hotel AALS Meeting Suites

Calvert Room, Lobby Level



Founder and president of the Alliance for Justice (AFJ), a national association of more than 130 justice groups representing a variety of progressive constituencies.  AFJ is the leader in advocacy for a federal judiciary that advances core constitutional values, preserves human rights and access to the courts, and adheres to the even-handed administration of justice for all Americans.


General Counsel of the Service Employees International Union (SEIU), one of the nation’s largest unions committed to economic and social justice, including leading the national “Fight for $15” campaign. SEIU’s 2-million members are united by a belief in the dignity and worth of workers, and dedicated to creating a more just and humane society.


Director of the Thurgood Marshall Institute of the NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc. (LDF), which conducts research, advocacy campaigns, and public education initiatives in pursuit of racial justice.  She has litigated school desegregation, affirmative action in higher education, and employment discrimination cases, and managed LDF’s Washington, D.C. office. She held the Charles Hamilton Houston Endowed Chair in Civil Rights at the University of North Carolina Central School of Law, and has taught at the University of Maryland School of Law.


Vice President of Litigation for the Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund (MALDEF), one of the nation’s premier Latino civil rights law firms.  She supervises legal staff and MALDEF’s ligation docket at offices throughout the United States.  She is a nationally recognized leader in voting rights and immigrants’ rights litigation.


Professor of Law, University of the District of Columbia David A. Clarke School of Law.  Prof. Brittain is a nationally known litigator and was Chief Counsel and Senior Deputy Director of the Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law, was Dean of the Thurgood Marshall School of Law at Texas Southern University in Houston and Acting Dean of UDC Law.  He is a past president of the National Lawyers Guild.