SALT Names Annual Great Teacher, Human Rights Honorees

Share SALT News


Professor Susan Bryant

CUNY School of Law

Professor Jean Koh Peters

Yale Law School

Sherrilyn Ifill

NAACP LDF and Maryland Law


At its upcoming Annual Dinner to be held on January 8, 2016 in New York City, SALT will honor three champions of its mission of justice, diversity and teaching excellence.  Professor Susan Bryant from CUNY School of Law and Professor Jean Peters from Yale Law School will share the SALT Great Teacher Award honors.  The M. Shanara Gilbert Human Rights Award will be presented to Sherrilyn Ifill, President and Director-Counsel of the NAACP Legal Defense and Education Fund (NAACP-LDF), and a faculty member at the University of Maryland Francis Carey School of Law. The Great Teacher Award recognizes Bryant and Koh Peters for their collaborative teaching and scholarship on clinical pedagogy. Sherrilyn Ifill will receive the Human Rights Award in recognition for her relentless advocacy with NAACP-LDF on issues such as voting rights, affirmative action and police violence as well as her work on race and justice as a faculty member.   Look for more information about the honorees and sponsorship opportunities soon in your email and on  The dinner will be held at New York University’s Kimmel Center on Friday, January 8, 2016, starting at 6:30 p.m.; information about ticketing options to follow in September. We look forward to seeing you there!